MAC Semi-Precious Review, With Swatches

13 July, 2011

So today, MAC’s annual Mineralize collection came out-and if it was possible to be more overwhelming than last year’s, it succeeded. Seriously. But not in a good way. It’s a three displayer collection (face/lips, eyes, skincare) but to me, it was a case of the quality was not there like how I hoped.

The Skinfinishes were all nice-but with the amount of stuff that I have, it’s a case of pick and choose. Crystal Pink was nice, but I have Porcelain Pink and Glissade which serve the same purpose. The one I ended up getting-Rose Quartz-is a pinkier version of Stereo Rose, and while not an exact dupe I find I like this for the cheeks. A lot. Goldstone was nice, but from what I heard it was more shimmer than bronzer…and with So Ceylon and Northern Lights, I don’t need it. Pearl, finally, would be nice but if I want an ultra-shimmer, that’s what Shimpagne is for. The thing I like about these is the solid and then a veined section in the center-I’ll be using my solid part of Rose Quartz a lot.

The blushes were actually quite decent, and if I had unlimited funds I would seriously get all three because they were nicely pigmented. Feeling Flush, naturally, was my favourite. It’s a nice bright pink, but not a deep pink like Full Fuschia, Her Blooming Cheek, or any of those. It’s a bit more wearable, which reminds me that I should break out my Hello Kitty blushes. I haven’t used those in ages, and I’m kind of in a blusher rut at this time:) Warmth of Coral was quite pretty, but I have a lot like it already. Maybe if it hits the CCO, I will get it. Pressed Amber, finally, would be a good one to have for a more minimalistic look, for a contour, or maybe if I want to lay off the Key Largo for once.

The eyeshadows-the less said, the better when used dry, but wet? Probably another story. Faux Gold, Dark Indulgence, and Hint of Sapphire are all great, as is Blue Sheen. Smoked Ruby was pretty, but the red did not translate dry. Maybe wet would work better? Quartz Fusion and I believe Clarity (I did not write down my shades) were fallout city-but then again, so was She Who Dares, and used wet that is a beauty. I am sad that I didn’t really have time to play with them, but there’s always another time. At the same time, though, I have similar colours to a lot of this, and unless you are going for very specific nuances in colours I feel that a lot of these can be duplicated easily. I mean, I have She Who Dares, three UD Books of Shadows, and a few pro shadow shades-and I don’t wear a ton of neutrals. That made it easy for me to pass:)

There are four lipsticks here-and with the exception of Musky Amethyst (a rather nice frost), they’re pretty much your standard lipsticks for this sort of collection. All lustres, all pretty low-key. There’s also 5 Cremesheen glasses, not my favourite product in the world, believe me. I dunno WHAT possessed me to buy Chillin’ last year, that blue one from In The Groove. All of them are going to be fairly non-sticky, a hint of colour, and in the case of Geo Pink, a smidge of shimmer-but overpriced still for the amount of product and the minimalistic look that they fall into (in my opinion). Dazzleglass Creme? Good. Cremesheen Glass? Not so much.

Finally, there are brushes-but they looked rather gimmicky to me. I may go back and take a second look, but I wasn’t impressed. It takes a lot for me to like a new brush, and while it is exciting to see the new ones, I just wish they would repromote some past LE brushes. While they are at it, this was Semi-Precious…they should have repromoted Oh Garnet while they were at it. Seriously, one of my favourite lipsticks.

And yes, I have swatches! The shadows are not named, because I forgot them and with 12 different ones that all look sort of similar…plus it was 8 hours between when I swatched and when I got home.


Lipstick: Lush Amber, Musky Amethyst, Gem of Roses, One of a Kind
Cremesheen Glass: Pure Magnificence, Looks Like Sin, Geo Pink, Natural Flare, Richly Revered


Mineralize Skinfinish: Goldstone (solid), Goldstone (veined), Crystal Pink (solid), Crystal Pink (veined)


More MSF goodness: Rose Quartz (solid), Rose Quartz (veined), Pearl (solid), Pearl (veined)


Mineralize Blush: Warmth of Coral, Pressed Amber, Feeling Flush


MES Part 1: Quartz Fusion, Faux Gold?, Blue Sheen, Clarity?


MES Part 2: Hint of Sapphire?, Unsurpassable?, Smoked Ruby, Dark Indulgence


MES Part 3: Rare Find, Jade’s Fortune?, Golden Gaze, Mineral Mode. These were my guesses at what they were, the question marks were the ones I was not sure about.

All in all, this collection? Big. It’s one where honestly, you need to shop your stash before buying because I don’t see much here that is TERRIBLY special. There are always exceptions to the rule, but if you get anything I’d say get a blush and an MSF. I would have bought Goldstone, all three blushes, and MAYBE an eyeshadow if I could-but I am happy with Rose Quartz. Cindy Sherman will bleed me dry, and I have vacations to plan for, clothes to buy, and other insanity. Woot woot!

Leave a Reply

