Review: Hawaiian Tropic SPF 4 Tanning Lotion

22 June, 2011

When I was preparing for my first of two California vacations this year, I needed to get some tanning stuff. Problem was, since it was out-of-season there weren’t a ton of deals! But one day, at ULTA, I found what I needed-in the impulse bins for just a couple bucks: a 2-ounce bottle of this. It was a total win-win: it took up zero space-in fact, I chucked it in my quart-sized bag-and if I didn’t like it, it wasn’t that much of an investment. If I did, I had a small bottle and could buy a big one in order to decant into it.

For years-since I was 16-I’ve used oils. I still miss this oil that Hawaiian tropic used to do, and for a couple years I was trying some really bad, greasy things that would stain my clothes like crazy. It’s my first foray into lotions-and I love it!

The first thing I love is the fact that it not only is NOT greasy, but it’s very water-resistant as well. And by very, I mean it stays on AFTER swimming a few laps in the pool. Doesn’t grease it up, either-but it washes off easily! The not greasing is very important, though. I’ve had a few things ruined by bad oils-and this does not transfer. I mean sure, when I’m on my stomach some of it may sweat off, but that happens. I’m used to it by now. I don’t even have to shower it off-although for good measure, I always apply lotion and then makeup. Yes, I put makeup on my legs. That will be the subject of my next post.

The second thing that I love about it? IT WORKS. I am lucky in that I maintain a good amount of colour throughout the year, thanks to a) heavy tanning in the summer with oils and lotions, and b) moisturizing like a fiend. Some summers, I get really tan. Others, it’s harder. With the help of this-and of course, a couple days tanning on vacation-I have more of a tan now than I did at this time last year. So, it works. But here’s the more miraculous thing: I had my friend try a little bit of it. She does NOT tan. She burns, but does not tan. This is something that I’m going to have her use, because it worked! Albeit a little bit-but still.

So, long-story short…if you are wanting a good tan, this is an essential product.

By the way: The Hawaiian Tropic website has some great sun tips, and I’m going to pass along what I think is the best: if you’re just starting tanning, or if you are trying to build melanin, start at 30 minutes a day, and add a few more each day so long as you aren’t getting red. Make sure to do sunscreen as well, especially if you have the UV index to deal with. (We don’t really, here in Seattle)

Leave a Reply

