Hooray Summer!

22 June, 2011

So summer has finally arrived, and yesterday the sun and heat were in full force here (if only for two days before more clouds/mid 60 temps). And with all that-time to change some beauty things around!

First up, my leg makeup tricks. This is what works for me, because I have a good deal of a tan already-but I like to accent it. People ask me if I spray-tanned or what I use, and it’s quite simple: you just need three different shimmery powders (I use MAC Mineralize Skinfinish), and then you use a lotion to mix it and seal it all in. Personally, I use So Ceylon, Shimpagne, and Northern Lights in that order: So Ceylon gets the bronze, Shimpagne for the shimmer, and Northern Lights has a good blend of bronze and reddish tones to really amp up the tan. I then use Gilly Hicks lotion and it makes my legs not only butter-soft, but it allows me to get it so that it isn’t streaky. If I really want more shimmer, I’ll add a little bit of Glissade or Light Flush. I do that because it is much more fine of a shimmer, even moreso than the most finely-milled shimmer in shimmer lotions. Figure if it works for the face, it works for the legs-so it doesn’t SCREAM shimmer, it just reflects the light and looks shimmery if you look closely enough. For the lighter colours, I like to use a buffer brush like a 181, but for the darker ones I’d use something like a 168.

Second, for the hair, I have to start deep-conditioning it! My hair has lightened up significantly, due to a) the vacation, and b) the fact that our mall had an outdoor event, and I was outside in the sun for two days. It looks like I spent a fortune getting it highlighted…but I thank the sun! But with all that, and my love of my hairdryer…it’s time for the shea butter hair mask.

For my face, I’m struggling because with my stress-and my love of Menchie’s and Yogurtland, I am getting many more zits. One thing that I have tried, though, is to do an olive oil cleanse at night. I just get some on the washcloth and wipe my makeup off. Sure, it takes work, especially with all the makeup that I wear, but I like how it lightly moisturizes. And since I hate getting the washcloth right up in my eye, once my face has been oiled I can just use my fingers to rub any excess eye makeup off. Bad, I know, but it’s all slick so it isn’t AS bad, I don’t think.

Finally, it’s always good for new fragrances…but I have my Michael Kors, so I am happy:)

3 Responses to “Hooray Summer!”

  1. Mamdy Says:

    When you do the leg makeup, do you apply the makeup and then the lotion over top? I am just wondering how the colors don’t smear off.

    Thanks!

    • codekiki Says:

      When I do it, I put the makeup on first, then the lotion. Granted, I typically am wearing a skirt or shorts that are above the knee at that time, and I don’t do it too far above the knee. I think the lotion may lock it in. It also isn’t a ton of colour-it’s more colour on the face than on the leg. I typically don’t have shimmer lotions rub off after they set in. I also tried this trick with a Goldie gel bronzer from years ago-the bronzer on, then lotion-and it worked for me. It could be, though, that it’s something with my skin that lets it stay-or it could be the lotion. I dunno.

  2. Mamdy Says:

    Thanks for the info. It just seemed like the lotion would rub the makeup off. I’ll give it a try.


Leave a Reply

