Some New OPI Reviews

9 December, 2010

Figure since I am trying to get better about swatching and photographing, I should show these, right? I tried desperately to get a picture of The Show Must Go On, but it needs to have its picture taken outdoors-and the weather has ranged from raining cats and dogs to just mostly cloudy here in Seattle recently.

Take The Stage. When I first saw the chipboard at the nail supply for this collection, this was what stood out to me the most. I mean, what looked to be a chromed dark orange? Sign me up, as I love my oranges to death. This one is two coats, and it does look somewhat chromed but the best part is the sparkle in there as well. It isn’t as sparkly as some of the other shimmers in the collection, but it is definitely one that is backup-worthy for me.

Gift of Gold. This was one of the new ULTA exclusives, and I must say it was worth the wait. First off, it is a gold nugget gold-a true blindingly bright gold, moreso than Dazzled by Gold from last year. It is very gritty, but it doesn’t take long in the acetone tub to soak off. But I do have to say, the piece de resistance about this? The fact that there’s a red flash in there, and it’s quite evenly distributed but at the same time, not totally out-there. My camera sucks at getting the red, so it doesn’t show up on the nail swatch, but in the bottle pic you can kind of see it.

BTW-in the bottle pics I am wearing Essie Wrapped in Rubies.


Rising Star. This is also an orange, a sparkly metallic like Take The Stage, but it’s lighter than that. This one seems to be a very close mix of China Glaze Free Love with a little bit of their Street Racing from that collection-very pretty. This is the sort of colour that I go gaga over-a lot of people don’t like these sorts of oranges. What that means? All the more for me. Muahaha.

So there you have it. I will get more pics up as I get time-I just got a boxed set of the China Glaze Tequila Toes polishes (minus It’s 5 ‘O Clock Somewhere), as well as a couple Zoyas and more OPI’s to swatch. Hopefully there will be sun soon so that I can do more swatching.

 

2 Responses to “Some New OPI Reviews”

  1. Sylvie Says:

    Wow that’s a lot of bling! By the way, how do you recommend easily removing glitter polishes? I’ve tried felt but it doesn’t work very well- it ends up tearing up the surface of the felt.

    • codekiki Says:

      I have an acetone tub from ULTA that has a sponge inside with three holes-and I soak my fingers for a minute at a time. It takes awhile to remove, but as long as it’s 100% acetone and not a blend (like the Beauty Secrets pink remover, or the Zoya Remove+ that a lot of people like), it works easily.


Leave a Reply

