OPI Bought Out By COTY

30 November, 2010

Here’s the article from the LA Times: http://www.latimes.com/business/la-fi-opi-20101129,0,2661363.story?track=rss

While I do see it as great from a business standpoint-this means that I will no longer be buying any new OPI products after the Katy Perry collection. Why? Animal-testing. Coty is known for its animal testing and well, it’s something that I am not exactly cool with. I stopped buying new Essie polishes after the summer ones for that same reason, because they were bought out by L’Oreal, one of the other major companies that animal tests (Proctor/Gamble being the third biggie). Luckily, I still have options, as in China Glaze and Zoya. Pretty much now the only other OPI polishes I will buy are old colours, or I will do an online order for the very few core shades that I want, as well as getting a few backups (Cozu-Melted In The Sun, Bright Lights-Big Colour to name a couple) and then stop there.

Remember, kids-just say no to animal testing. As Urban Decay says, “We don’t do it-how could anyone?”.

Leave a Reply

