Black Friday 2010

19 November, 2010

It’s a week away-and I’m so excited! I mean, call me a crazy silly American, but I love getting up early to get bargains before going to work to sell other people bargains. It’s tradition!

Not all the ads are out-many of them don’t leak til Thanksgiving, but I honestly like it when they leak faster: it allows my mum and I to set up a game plan of where to go when, and I can compare prices and figure out what I want. Let’s face it: there isn’t much I NEED at this time that goes on sale, as I haven’t moved out of my parents’ place yet and I’m doing just fine without a television. Sure, a TV is nice, but it’s not a necessity. I do, however, always look for DVDs. When you can get a movie for the price of my normal morning coffee at Starbucks, it’s definitely worth it to stock up. Plus, I fill my movie library for a small investment. If I need something to do, I just pop one in. I don’t buy a ton of movies, but I buy ones I know I can get some enjoyment out of (a few popcorn flicks) and then some more serious movies, just to keep my mind going.

Also I may or may not be looking for a new digital camera. I might just see about getting someplace to fix it for me, but if they can’t I can just get a new one. Which would sadden me, because my camera is the same shade of blue as the Chelsea FC uniforms. Coincidental, because Samsung sponsors them.

I also stock up on clothes, being that I am a total clotheshorse-because the deals simply can’t be beat. Taking one peek in my overstuffed closet is further evidence of that, as I have so many dresses that I need a separate dress bag. When we moved into our house, we never really thought that a) I would still be living at home at 22, and b) I would end up working at a clothing retailer. Speaking of which, we have insane deals coming, which I cannot divulge. They are definitely worth getting there early for, although my mall is awesome: holiday hours are 9-9, no earlier or later. None of this “open til 11” crap. Also, though, besides me I have tons of people to buy for. My dad already has enough clothes, and he has one preferred retailer (Jos. A Banks) so a gift card would definitely suffice. I already have the bulk of stuff done for my mum, although I may get a few things here or there for her because our store’s winter sale starts BEFORE Christmas. Yes, before.  And for my brother? I’m definitely waiting for the sale, however when you have $10 everyday value jeans (that being one of the things he needs) it’s also good stock-up time.

We typically will do it this way when it comes to our shopping: leave at 5 AM, go up to the Best Buy. Right around there we have that, Old Navy, ULTA, Barnes/Noble, Nordstrom Rack (which doesn’t have special deals, but I need brassieres badly and maybe sunglasses-maybe), plus we’re a short drive to JcPenney and a fairly large mall. We then hit the store a mile from our house for their sock sale (50% off all socks until 11 AM), and then we hit my store. We may or may not hit Target also. Work til 11, off at 8-and I could very feasibly hit the other mall close to me on my way home, since they start extended hours that day also and I might need to get a few things.

My goal of being done with Christmas shopping before Black Friday isn’t going to happen-but a gift card is the perfect gift, my brother isn’t picky, and a lot of what I have to buy is small stuff.

Leave a Reply

