My Fabulous Felines Haul

2 September, 2010

Sorry for the lack of updates, work has been nuts but I am stoked for Lanvin-hopefully our store will get it!

Anyways, I ended up hauling six items total from the collection: Cunning lipstick, Of Royalty lipstick, Lap of Luxury lipglass, Best of Breed lipglass, the 188SH, and Treat Me Nice liner. And I can honestly say that I think I got the items I needed the most: items to fill in holes in my collection, a brush, some fall colours, and the new liner to try.

First up, let me review the liner by saying that you need to own one to truly experience it, to use it on yourself. The lasting power is truly awesome, and it is very easy to use. Cleaning up overlined areas is a breeze (while it’s still wet, of course), and the fact that there are colours is awesome as well. This green-a nice, darker grassy green in my eyes-is pretty for a winged liner because it’s softer than a black, and good for daily use.

The two lipsticks were ones that aren’t normally in my repetoire, but thinking about it made them all the more necessary. Of Royalty is a milky pink Cremesheen that acts as the perfect foil to any look I am doing, without being garishly immature (some milky pinks should not be worn with certain looks…). I definitely have resigned myself to the fact that I do have to get Saint Germain, though-it’s “less wearable” which means “bring it on” in my book. As for Cunning, it’s a great vampy with red tones in it, which makes it even more wearable for a vampy hater like myself. With the more ladylike looks of fall coming, I am definitely evolving my style to become more of that, so I need a lipstick to wear for some of that.

The two lipglasses are worlds apart. Best of Breed is still very sheer, but you get more of the blue tones in there. It’s very much a greyish blue-ie the Russian Blue that it was inspired after. I still like to think it was the British Shorthair, or Happycat, the star of I Can Has Cheezburger. But that’s a different story. It’s a great gloss to wear for those days where I don’t feel like a ton of colour on the lip-it’s a sheer with way more. Lap of Luxury, meanwhile, is Cunning in lipglass form. As in, I needed it. It’s quite pigmented on its own, which I loved, and it would be really good over some of my reds like Kanga-Rouge.

Finally, the 188SH, which I actually haven’t used yet! Shocking, I know, but I haven’t had time or energy to clean my brushes and the deal is that once I have the energy to do so, the 188 full-size is staying at home while the SH version stays in my purse. Definitely can tell, though, that the quality is there, and I hope to have it last for years.

Would I have bought more? Yes, as well as the Nail Trend polishes (sorry, those still haven’t made it to a post of their own yet!). But money is getting more limited-I am starting to have to pay for more of my expenses. I used to have it really good-actually, still do. I not only got my paycheck, but if I needed money for something I got it from my parents. Not to mention, they paid my bus pass and all that. Now, I don’t pay any rent or bills, but everything else I pay. It’s not a ton, but that’s another $60-$80 gone. It’s just a part of growing up, and I am not complaining because even this was extravagant compared to many of my other prior hauls. Venomous Villains is probably going to be one of my last big ones, luckily I get holiday pay for Labour Day which will all go to that, as well as reimbursement from the lunch I am cooking. As for future stuff, though…who knows. I hope for more of Pret-a-Papier, Warm & Cozy, and other collections of that ilk that I was not interested in because it means more money, as well as buying brushes. Not like I need a ton more though-I will be doing a post about my essential brushes.

Additionally, here are sellout updates:

Pigment-Bloodline…and that’s it. However, stores typically sell out faster.

3 Responses to “My Fabulous Felines Haul”

  1. Sylvie Says:

    Speaking of the eyeliners, I bought 4 of those (though I would have bought them all if my conscience had let me!) and I used one of them for the first time yesterday. I found the felt tip very sharp and almost painful to use, so I was wondering if it’s like those new Dazzleglass wands which need to be bent before they get softer and splay out? Or maybe it’s just that I never use liquid liners and all felt tips feel like that on the eyelid.

    • codekiki Says:

      Mine wasn’t sharp like that, but the trick is holding it at a smidge of an angle. You WANT them to be pointy, because you get a nice, thinner line that way (at least from my experience. It does soften up a bit, though, but I never found mine to be overwhelmingly sharp.

    • codekiki Says:

      Mine wasn’t sharp like that, but the trick is holding it at a smidge of an angle. You WANT them to be pointy, because you get a nice, thinner line that way (at least from my experience. It does soften up a bit, though, but I never found mine to be overwhelmingly sharp.


Leave a Reply

