New ULTA Ad: 8-28 August

10 August, 2010

So I haven’t gotten an ULTA ad in ages, and the only thing I had received recently was my latest coupon (which I used well-I have reviews coming soon on the Cargo mini set). But I figured this was because they have the latest rewards coupons. Again, I am level four, but I’m probably just going to use it on a nail polish. The nice thing is that the rewards certificate is valid through the middle of September, so if you are wanting to use it on nail polish you are actually best holding off on it until the next ad comes, because there might just be a deal (ie B2G1 free) on OPI or Essie. There is an OPI mini set with a $10 OPI purchase-it has minis of Brisbane Bronze, Bogota Blackberry, and Black Cherry Chutney-but I hate the OPI minis. Brisbane Bronze and Black Cherry Chutney, especially, are staple polishes for me that I can’t imagine being without. (Russian Navy is in there; it’s my lucky colour. I wore it when I got my current job, and when I wore it today I had my best performance probably EVER. Definitely a lucky colour if there ever was one)

It’s another bag with fragrance purchase thing-this time, it’s a weekender in white, pink, or teal with a black jacquard print. I like it, but honestly a) I never am away from home, and b) I have enough suitcases already. There are lots of newbies though-JPG Classique X, Benefit’s new three (So Hooked on Camella; which is a floral with vanilla, Lookin to Rock Rita; a green fruity, and Garden of Good and Eva; a citrus floral). The ad had a sample of Camella, which I actually really like. It’s VERY similar to VS Dream Angels Halo, which is a recent love of mine. This is my summer frag for 2010, and the Benefit fragrances aren’t too out of reach (granted, it’s just a one ounce EDT but $36 is reasonable IMO) so I may have to get it once I run down on something. There’s also the Daisy Pop Art edition, which is basically a red bottle with black flowers. Calvin Klein has new Eternity Aqua for men, Philosophy has Eternal Grace (which I may need to give a try), Blumarine has new Blugirl, and more.

There are also more bag with purchase deals-a $75 Ed Hardy fragrance purchase will get you either a tote (ladies) or backpack (men’s), a $70 women’s purchase will get you a clutch with minis or a $65 of men’s will get you a “flight bag” with minis of CK Eternity, and a $58 DKNY Be Delicious purchase will get you a tote. Lots of value sets also, nothing really that new or interesting except the Princess one, where for $65 you get the 1.7 ounce EDT, a body lotion, and a lipgloss keychain with a mini bag.

It’s the time of year for the ULTA brand GWP-with a 17.50 purchase of the cosmetics, beauty tools, or minerals, you get a gift in your choice of purple or green. Each has two shadow quads, two polishes, a dual-ended lipgloss, a dual-ended eye pencil, a blush, a bronzer, a lipstick, a mirror, four brushes (sponge-tip eye, eye shader, powder, angled blush…all long-bristled), and the bag. There are also new ULTA brand items-mousse blushes, compact foundations, Legendary Lengths mascara, gel liners, and cream shadows. My mum uses some of the stuff from hers from last year, although I avoid the ULTA brand stuff since my skin got kinda irritated. What can I say, it’s picky skin.

Anywhoo, the B2G1 is on LA Splash, NYX, Bonne Bell, Japonesque, Almay, Cover Girl, L’Oreal eye products, Maybelline, Sally Hansen, Neutrogena, and Revlon Colourstay. As usual, no combining brands. The LA Splash line, if I recall correctly, has this polish called Golden Seahorse which may end up being the one polish that I buy from a non-salon line again. It’s purty.

Into the good makeup-ULTA is now stocking Tarte, and selected locations are going to be stocking Butter London nail polishes. I haven’t tried the BL polishes, but I haven’t heard great reviews. That being said, there are polishes that in a way are honouring Alexander McQueen, so I may have to give those a try since I LOVED Alexander McQueen. Back to Tarte, though. There’s an exclusive 7 piece mini set for $25 that has the Natural Cheek Stain, Lights Camera Lashes mascara, Lifted eyeshadow primer, ReCreate face primer, EmphasEYES inner-rim liner, Park Ave Princess mineral bronzer, and 40 Winks lipgloss. I may have to give it a try because I’ve never used Tarte before, and I love being able to try a lot without a ton of cost. Also, when you make a purchase of $30 or more you get a free reusable tote.

Urban Decay has some new stuff in-namely the Naked shadow box and Lip Junkie lipglosses. Benefit has a free mini lipstick with $20 purchase, Pur Minerals has a $25 starter set, and both Stila and Smashbox have their fall collections. Stila’s is inspired by Fashion Week, and there’s a 6-shadow palette ($28), One Step PrimeColour (in the Kitten shade, it’s a primer, lip, eye, and cheek colour, plus highlighter for $22), GlamourEyes Mascara ($22), and Long Wear Liquid Lip Colour ($22, supposedly lasts 24 hours). Smashbox, meanwhile, has the Masquerade collection, with lots of stuff. I will do a separate feature on this sometime in the coming weeks, more than likely next Friday since then I’m going to Sephora anyways to get some UD shadows.

There’s also lots of values. Cargo has a free mini bronzer with $10 purchase, Bare Minerals has a Natural Lipgloss Duo Seal with any purchase, LORAC has a 3D Multiplex gloss with any purchase, and Studio Gear has a two-piece flatbuki set with any purchase. Additionally, LORAC has a Nude Scene collection with a lipgloss, blush, fan brush, and two shadows in a wristlet for 25 (may do that), and Too Faced has the Leopard Love kit, with three leopard powders (Peach, Candy, and Pink) for bronzing, blush, and brightening.

In skincare, Murad has launched a new moisturizer with a steep price tag (compared to other moisturizers from them)-$65-but it touts itself as being an “all purpose moisturizing fix”. You also get a free Age Reform regimen sampler set with a $25 purchase. Not like I need it, but I am running low on moisturizer. Exuviance has a brand-new Age Reverse line, and with any purchase you can get a sampler box for free which would be a good way to test it out. Strivectin has a new $99 gift set with the SD, the SD Eye Concentrate, and the SD resurfacing scrub. Dermalogica has a new set too, for $40-it’s the Ultra Calming set, designed for sensitive/irritable skin. (I may have to give this one a try eventually) They also sell the pieces individually, so you can pick and choose, but I definitely would have to go for the Calming Mist the most out of the group. Philosophy has Miracle Worker anti-aging concentrate for $62, with an anti-aging moisturizer for $55. I’m not familiar with Philosophy skincare, but this is definitely one that you’d want to sample first as opposed to buying based on what I’ve heard (specifically, Hope In A Jar isn’t all it’s cracked up to be). Kinerase has a free sample of Cream with any purchase, while Mario Badescu has a free Seaweed soap with any purchase.

Into haircare, where Brocato has a “revolutionary” new flat iron-it’s a vibrating flat iron that supposedly decreases styling time by 30%. It’s $150, but if it can cut styling time it may be worth a look (provided you use a flat iron). Conair’s Instant Heat curling irons/spiral stylers are $15, Zoe’s pink/white dotty print flat iron is $30, as is Conair’s Infiniti Pro dryer and Bed Head’s Ceramic dual waver. The InStyler is $100…well, it always is. All Hot Tools styling toold are 20% off, Rusk has their W8less flat iron and Speed Freak dryer for $120 each, while Sedu has their Revolution flat iron and dryer for $160 each. CHI has the 1″ ceramic black flat iron for $100.

CHI styling packs are $20, while Oscar Blandi has a brand new dry shampoo-this one being a clear spray to help volumize. (Dry shampoo is among the biggest trends in hair product right now) With any $25 purchase, you can get a free 1.8 ounce Lacca hairspray. DevaCurl, a line devoted specifically to curly hair, has a free 3 ounce Set It Free with a $20 purchase. Sexy Hair styling duos are $20, Redken duos are $21-26, Matrix essentials duos are $15, and Kenra’s volume spray with bonus duo is $22. Rusk, Paul Mitchell, KMS, TIGI, and Nioxin are B2G1 free, meanwhile. In Nexxus, L’Oreal (everpure and everstrong), and John Frieda, you get a styler free when you buy a shampoo and conditioner. All ULTA styling products are 2/$8, and for $20 you can get an Ultimate Caddy which is a shampoo/conditioner duo, a headband, a basket, a pouf, and a styling thingy. L’Oreal Root Rescue is $1 off, and Garnier is introducing a new Blow Dry perfector for $10.

There’s a new bodycare line called Republic of Pink Bliss and with a $12.50 purchase, you get a free Pomegranate body spray. All ULTA Smoothies are $10, with new Lemon Cookie, Bubble Gum, and Juicy Red Apple. The Hand and Body creams for the Smoothies are $7, while ULTA Antibac is B2G2 free and ULTA Bath is B2G2 free.

Also, it’s the usual Caboodles, hair accessory, sunglass, and cosmetic bag 25% off deal.

Olay, L’Oreal, Neutrogena, Nivea, Eucerin, and Lumene skincare, as well as Gilette and Schick razors, are all 15% off.

Finally, on the back cover, there’s the new OPI Swiss series. Those merit a separate post as well, even though I’m not particularly enthused by them. They all seem very dupe-y, and I have a bunch of collections to finish-not to mention the impending OPI Burlesque, which will bleed me dry.

Leave a Reply

