Review: Barbie Loves Stila Smudge Pots

4 May, 2010

Released back in the fall of 09, I happened to just pick these up on sale at ULTA. I had wanted to get them back when they came out, but I was still out of work at that time so I was SOL. But getting them for half off now? Heck, yes.

Anyways, there were three colours that came out with the collection: Purple Pumps; which was a bright purple with pink shimmer, Cobalt Clutch; a royal blue with shimmer, and Little Black Dress; a black with shimmer. I got Purple Pumps and Cobalt Clutch, and well, let’s just say this: they’re pretty.

The thing that is nice about the Smudge Pots is their versatility. They can be used as a cream shadow, but I prefer them as a liner. I find that as a cream shadow, they’re way too hard to blend, and not only that but they just absorb whatever colour is on top of them. I tried doing a look with Purple Pumps as the base, MAC Parfait Amour as the middle lid, and MAC Crystal as the inner-and well, I didn’t get much. Still, though, as a liner these are absolutely gorgeous because they are bright, shimmery, and pretty. The lasting power is also great-they last all day with no need for a touch-up whatsoever. Needless to say, I’m a huge fan.

Ease of use, though, is a different story. I’m used to the creaminess of a MAC fluidline, so the fact that these are not like that annoys me a bit. It’s hard to get my 210 into my Cobalt Clutch, although it worked fine with Purple Pumps. Again, the fact that I can’t use these as a base-or really blend them-also annoys me. From what I have also heard, these can tend to dry out fast, but the thing that helps me is storing them upside-down, so that any moisture goes to the bottom, erm the top.

Don’t let that deter you, though, because as a liner these are insanely gorgeous. I didn’t get into MAC’s fluidlines until very recently, so I do not know if there was a shade exactly like either one of these. I do like gel/cream liners anyways better than pencils or liquids, so these are the sorts of things I need.

Leave a Reply

