Review: Essie Resort 2010

28 April, 2010

So this review is going to be based on the three that I purchased: Lapis of Luxury, Splash of Grenadine, and Turquoise and Caicos.

All in all, this is a fun little capsule collection that is perfect for summer. I really wish I had been on board for the North Forks from last year, because I got Sag Harbour and I loved it. These have more range, but still fun. The one big sticking point for me, though, was the fact that they are THIN and WATERY. All of them require at least three coats, a fourth wouldn’t hurt. I haven’t tried it with base coat, because I don’t use them (no point when I do my nails daily) but that may help if you intend to wear this for a few days at the very least.

Lapis of Luxury is a gorgeous mid-tone blue. It looks to be a bit periwinkle in the bottle, a few steps down from OPI No Room For The Blues. When I did it, I did three coats and went to sleep an hour later. Yep, holy sheetmarks. However a coat of Sephora OPI Just a Fairy-Tail helped remedy that bad look, and as a bonus, I got an iridescent topping.

Splash of Grenadine, when I swatched it, actually went 95% opague in two coats. Not bad. It’s not the sort of colour that we haven’t really seen before, but it’s still gorgeous and extremely wearable. It’s a definite lavender-toned pink, which is something my collection lacked (purples and greens are not a huge part of it).

Turquoise & Caicos required three coats, but it is gorgeous! Think of a stepsister or cousin to Mint Candy Apple and you have this. Are they dupey? Not in the slightest. It’s like they took MCA and added more green and less white to it. If you looked hard enough, you could probably dupe it but this is really pretty on the nail.

These are now available at ULTA, along with the fourth (Playa del Platinum). Currently they’re B2G1 free!

Leave a Reply

