Review: Gilly Hicks Sweet Astor

11 April, 2010

So I was finally able to get my hands on a few minis of these yesterday, and all I have to say is that this bodycare is absolutely amazing. I have tried the lotion and the body cream, so I think that gives me good reason to review it, right?

The fragrance is something that is totally unique-it’s a rhubarb vanilla blend, so it is definitely very sophisticated. It’s a fragrance that can work for a variety of age groups, as the vanilla gives it creaminess but at the same time, it’s not overly sweet or overly tart. The rhubarb gives a nice fruity note to it, but again, not overly sweet. It’s one that can go day or evening with ease, so this is a good one to slather up with before going out. It’s not overpowering, but it’s definitely there.

The body lotion is a really interesting sort of lotion-it has a sort of dry feeling to it. Creamy, yes, but it doesn’t feel runny in the least. It absorbs in way faster than my Bath & Body Works stuff, and my skin feels hydrated for longer. It’s not super-long hydrating, but it gets the job done and my skin feels super soft.

The body/hand cream, meanwhile, is delightfully thick but at the same time, not overwhelmingly heavy. These are absolutely amazing for the summer with how fast they absorb into the skin for a product that thick. It’s like a butter almost, consistency-wise-it reminds me of these little body butters we used to get at the great local pharmacy (that was displaced when Big Bad Bartell’s wanted to move up the road, which is precisely one of the reasons I will never shop Bartell’s again as long as I live) that were like buttercream frosting for the skin.

Pricing is decent-the body lotion full size (8.4 ounces) is $12, body wash (8.4) $10, and the hand/body cream (6.7) and body spray (8.4) are $14, but it’s 3/$15 so it’s an absolutely insane deal. As far as other scents go, they recently got rid of Silver Shell and Satin Bellow, so if you see these snap them up.

Availability? There are only 15 Gilly Hicks stores so far, and only three on the West Coast. That’s the one downside-but if you’re in the neighbourhood, pop into a GH and pick some of this up ASAP.

4 Responses to “Review: Gilly Hicks Sweet Astor”

  1. Jennifer Dale Says:

    YOU SPELL NEIGHBORHOOD LIKE A BRIT!

  2. Liliana Says:

    Hey, I found your site via google!

    Gilly Hicks is having its fall sale, and I figured I would buy body lotion/hand lotion online.

    Since you have a Gilly Hicks nearby, could you maybe elaborate on the differences between the body scents? (Eucalyptus, white willow, sweet astor, silver shell, satin bellow)

    Perhaps email would be even more convenient? Thanks in advance 🙂

    • codekiki Says:

      I will try my best; however I won’t have a ton of time to get down there until maybe early next week, but I won’t forget. Honest.


Leave a Reply

