The Great No-Buy: Through Day 46

3 April, 2010

Well, it’s Easter-and I succeeded: I did not buy nail polish for all of Lent! But as you may know, I’ve been working to continue this no-buy, and the hardest parts are coming up: when a ton of new stuff will be coming out. Only 4 more weeks to go before I can get my hands on, well, a LOT of stuff.

Clothes-wise, I have gotten my hands on way too much, but there is a bright lining: I have purged a lot from my wardrobe. Not only that, but I am having certain pieces that I have not worn in ages put in a sort of purgatory: if I don’t wear them within six months, I dump them. Easy as that. I’m going to try and get some money for the things I’m getting rid of (the things I feel that I can get some cash for, at least)-and I’ll either put the money in savings, or get something I know I need: a second dress bag. Maybe some new packs of plastic hangers as well, and special bags for my winter coats. The act of purging stuff you won’t use is hard for a sentimentalist like myself (what if I may use it again?) but then I look at how much I have, how much I plan on buying, and all that sort of stuff. Most of my old polos are getting the ax, because we have better ones at work (thicker material). A lot of stuff that I got between 2007 and early 2008 is going, although there are a few things I’ve had since the 6th/7th grade that I am keeping.

The money that I wanted to save ended up going to my boyfriend, to help him make rent-but I will have that back eventually, and savings will be able to start again.

Leave a Reply

