The Great No-Buy, Days 21-23

12 March, 2010

So far, so good as far as the no-buy goes! It helps that I’ve been avoiding anywhere that sells polish, but also looking at my stash and seeing that there’s a crapton of ones that haven’t been used since I started using a spreadsheet makes me a little more content. For example, I pulled out Essie Geranium last night. Only used it maybe once since I bought it last October, and I have so many reds that it’s almost like a dime a dozen. However, this is GORGEOUS. It’s like putting geranium petals on your fingers. Needless to say, I’m a huge fan.

The clothes no-buy is harder because we have the jacket event going on at work right now-and I had to get a new spring jacket. It was only $20, which makes things a lot easier, but there’s another one I want that is $35. I haven’t even seen how much this paycheck is because there are some things that I am definitely wanting to buy, not just for me but for Graham as well. For hospitality, I tend to wear new dresses, but I need to pinch myself. Hard. I need to remind myself that I do not need a new dress for every time I serve hospitality, because that would be just wasteful. A new dress for Easter? That’s one thing, because it’s a special occasion and if the younger girls are wearing lovely dresses for Easter, then I should also. In fact, I already have it picked out. But buying a new dress just for having something new to wear? No, thank you.

Makeup-wise, I am limiting myself as well. I think it will be a lot easier, trying to NOT go out on a payday, and tomorrow just working a 1-10.

Leave a Reply

