January ULTA Ads (til 23 Jan 10)

11 January, 2010

I know this one is a week late, but I lost the ad and just finally found it today kicking around at the bottom of my purse!

If you like Neutrogena, then you’ll want to hit ULTA, as it’s all B2G1 free. Ditto on all “salon styling/finishing products”, which equates to brands like Bed Head, Sexy Hair, Paul Mitchell, and so forth. Good times. Dermalogica is also B2G1 free, except for kits-which makes it a darn good way to get stocked up on what you need. I actually work at a shopping center with a store where I get 20% off Dermalogica, and the main thing I need is the facial sunscreen so that I don’t totally age my face this next summer when I inevitably am at the beach all the time with my friends.

On the note of skincare, there’s plenty of new stuff. Murad has an anti-aging acne regimen, which looks really interesting. I am a HUGE Murad fan, and the line is broken into three easy steps: cleanse/tone, treat/repair, hydrate/protect. I still am waiting a bit to review my Murad cleanser and moisturizer, but so far, the results are showing and my face is loving it. Anywhoo, Strivectin has a new Got Wrinkles? set for $99 which has the SD treatment, the hand cream, and the new eye cream. Kinerase also has new stuff, in this case two new firming products (face cream and eye cream) that go “beyond collagen”. Hmm… Exuviance CoverBlend is 10% off, which looks to be good for the one spot on my face I need to cover but I don’t need as much else. Mario Badescu has a sample of the Herbal Hydrating Serum with any purchase, DDF has a sample of the Advanced Micro-Exfoliation cleanser with purchase, and Peter Thomas Roth has a sample of the Mega-Rich eye cream with purchase.More B2G1? Yes indeed, and in this case, we’re talking body products-everything except H2O Plus, Ahava Timeline, Philosophy, and the usual ULTA bath stuff that is excluded. I’m not going to lie-I need some Jaqua. NOW.

Back to skincare-Garnier Nutritioniste, St. Ives, Eucerin, Nivea, Olay, ROC, and Aveeno are all 15% off. But we move into perfume now, where the featured new ones are the DKNY Fresh Blossom pop art bottle (same scent, new dress), Juicy’s Couture Couture (absolutely amazing, drives my man crazy), and the Ed Hardy Hearts & Daggers (as bad as the previous Ed Hardy scents). There’s also Vera Wang Glam Princess-and admittedly, I’ve never tried any of the Princess scents but I may have to give this one a try. No harm in trying, right?

And in the makeup that is worth using…Amazing Cosmetics has a B1G1 free on Amazing Concealer, the big thing of that line. Benefit not only has a free sample of Erase Paste with a $19 purchase, but there’s a new boxed powder called Sugarbomb. This one is interesting because it’s four triangular quadrants, with a peach, a softer pink, a darker pink, and a plummy shade that can be swirled together for a nice look. I actually got to try it out at Sephora the other day and it’s sheer but good. Bourjois has an insane deal-free eyeliner with mascara purchase, except for the Liner Clubbing. I am due to get a new tube of my Coup de Theatre, and getting a liner will make it very worthwhile for me.

Urban Decay has a duo right now for $26 which is a duo of both the original Primer Potion as well as the Sin edition. Too Faced has a deal as well-a $27.50 Lash Layering Kit with both the Lash Injection and the Lash Injection Pinpoint, to get big lashes. Smashbox has the 2 ounce Photo Finish primer for $49, which is a $72 value. They also have come out with new Halo eyeshadows, which are a duo (yes, it is a bulls-eye shape) of the “clinically proven formula”.

Essie is back to the free Matte About You or Good To Go topcoat with a $16 purchase. While it is certainly appealing, I am better off ordering from Transdesign, and maybe waiting. I already have a decent bottle of Matte About You anyways, and that admittedly inspired me to matte my Conga Line Coral mani. Awesome when on its own (one of my best OPI’s), but matte? Terracotta, almost a chrome finish. Gotta love it.

On B2G1 free, we have Cover Girl, Almay, Neutrogena, Japonesque, Palladio, Physician’s Formula, Maybelline, Sally Hansen lip and nail stuff, Borghese nail products, Eco Tools, Prestige, and Rimmel. Revlon is also on B2G1 free, and there’s the new PhotoReady stuff which looks interesting, even to an avowed anti-drugstore beauty person like myself.

Selected ULTA Brand cosmetics are on sale, but some of them have changed. Until the 23rd, the mascara, mineral eyeshadow, mineral blush, lip gloss, lipstick, mineral bronzer, loose powder foundation, stick concealer, liquid concealer, mineral concealer, mineral eyeliner, and Hide & Treat concealer are all 2/$10, while the automatic eye and lip liners, the nail polish, eyeshadow, blush, brow pencils, and kohl lip/eye pencils are 3/$10. HOWEVER…for the week of 10-16 January, the lip/eyeliners are $1, the nail polishes are $2, the shadow, blush, brow pencil, and kohl pencils are $3, the concealers, lipstick, lipgloss, and professional nail polishes are $4, and the mineral products, eye quad, and bronzers are $5. I promise, it’s not as confusing as it sounds.

L’Oreal has a ton of deals for $5-$7 each, as well as a new lash boosting system that is $25 and designed to make lashes longer and fuller. If it was by a company that did not animal test, then I would totally be on board with it.

The mail ad has a ton of coupons, but they aren’t really that great.

Hot Tools is 20% off, as usual, and CHI has the usual $100 for a 1″ ceramic flat iron or the holiday irons. I swear, I want the damask and the leopard. Yes, I want two CHI irons. Bad, I know. There are a few salon specials, though-$20 for a Good & Glow exfoliation treatment, $30 for a haircut and style, and $35 for a colour gloss. The ULTA salon is fairly reasonably priced, as my mum got a lip wax there for $10. I know that in late December the one closest to me was doing a $5 brow arch, but I’ve actually started preferring plucking because it irritates my skin less.

The Bed Head dual waver, Conair curl setters, and Revlon 1″ Perfect Heat straighter are all $20 each, and the Zoe 1″ dots flat iron or dryer and Wigo Pink Zebra flat iron, curling iron, and dryer are all $30 each. They say that they are values up to $110-$130-and yes, that’s how much I’ve seen them going for at some places. I’ll take the $30, thanks-I love that curling iron.

Selected haircare (John Frieda, Marc Anthony, Sally Hershberger, Marc Anthony) is B1G1 50% off. The David Babaii thing shown is a volcanic ash root amplifier, and it says “Cruelty Free” right on the package. I mean, hello! LOVE IT. Garnier Fructis haircare is $3, while Herbal Essences is 2/$6. Clairol Nice/Easy haircolour is 2/$10, while Garnier colour is $5.

LITER DEAL TIME! Graham Webb’s Back to Basics and the Tigi Tweens (25 ounces) are $10 each. Rusk, Sexy Hair, American Crew, Abba, and ARTec are $12. Finally, Matrix and Redken are $14 each. I may have to try out some of the Graham Webb stuff, because it looks good and at that price for a liter, I can’t go wrong. I do like the Colour Me Sexy stuff from Sexy hair though for my blonde (that is now growing out) hair.

Onto the Sunday ad…the new things of note: Seche Vite and China Glaze nail polishes are all $5 each. Paul Mitchell and Kenra have shampoo/conditioner liters for $14 each. Too Faced has a new Twist/Pout Gloss Duo for $14, with two shades of colour that “wear like lipstick but go on like gloss”. Stila has “Can Couture” which has Major Lash mascara, a pan of Kitten eyeshadow, and minis of Peony convertible colour and the Pomegranate Crush, all for $28. Urban Decay, though, tops all of that with the Hall of Fame for only $18-with an XL Primer Potion, and four travel sizes-Midnight Cowboy lipstick, Skyscraper mascara, Timothy Pocket Rocket gloss, and of course, Zero eyeliner.

Leave a Reply

