Review: OPI Tiny Tinsels (ULTA Exclusive)

21 December, 2009

Every so often, OPI does the sets of mini polishes that are exclusive to ULTA. Back a couple months ago there was a free trio that had Princesses Rule and two others, one could have been La Paz-Itively Hot or I’m In-Dia Mood For Love, that was free with a purchase. I also got a little trio of Halloween polishes from them that I have not tried yet, but I shall review at my availability:) (Work is insane)

Anyways, this Tiny Tinsels set is a Christmas exclusive, and quite a fun one, as it has a decent range of shades: Berried in Gifts, Amethyst Twist, and Silver Belles. It also comes with a topcoat that I inevitably will not be using, but hey, who’s counting?


Berried With Gifts, to me, is closest to Essie’s Showstopper or Scarlett O’Hara. When I did the Vitamin Water Two-Coat Cap Swatch, Berried With Gifts is just a total dazzler-it’s a very pinky red, and it just has red and gold shimmer that makes it totally stand out. Showstopper, meanwhile, has the red shimmer but it actually has the gold frost effect mixed in, so it ends up being a bit more neutral but it’s still a dazzler. Scarlett O’Hara, finally, is warm but it veers more burgundy, and the shimmer is way more subtle.

Amethyst Twist is pretty much a spot-on dupe for Visions of Sugarplum, which was also an ULTA exclusive and a very nice colour. It’s a dark, vampy purple with purple microglitter/shimmer inside, which makes it a really interesting choice. I don’t typically think purple when I think holiday colours, however this is certainly a lovely one to have on hand. The first shot is, from index to pinkie, Amethyst Twist with a coat of Essie Matte About You on top, Visions of Sugarplum, then the last two are Amethyst Twist as normal. See? Not really different.

Silver Belles is a colour that I think should have a full-size release, as it is GORGEOUS. Dazzled By Gold was one of the standouts of all the holiday polishes, and this is the silver counterpart to it-very high-glitter, bright to the point of being able to get a tan off of it, and totally amazing. I definitely would hoard more sets of these and buy empty bottles to get the polish in so I didn’t have to worry…Anywhoo, the first one is the polish with a coat of Essie Matte About You, the second is normal (two coats).

There are two complaints that I have, though, about the sets. The first one is the quality-the small brushes are nearly impossible to work with, and some minis I have are unuseable after one or two manis. Essie does minis, but they are USEFUL! These were better, but still, not perfect. Second is the fact that it seems like most of the sets have a doggone topcoat. I don’t really need topcoat, and I would have appreciated a fourth colour. Maybe a green, perhaps? For $5, though (when I bought it), this is a great value and a great stocking stuffer.

You can check out more swatches like these in my Nail Swatch Gallery, which is updated semi-frequently.

Leave a Reply

