New ULTA Ad: Pre-Christmas 2009 (5-24 December)

12 December, 2009

So this is the last ad before Christmas-and it has a $5 off a $10 purchase coupon. The one in newspapers had the standard $3.50 off, so be prepared to save mucho money.

We start out with fragrance, and it’s the usual “luxury robe” with a purchase of $30 or more in fragrances…or the new Ed Hardy appliances. Nothing truly “new” on the fragrance front, although Couture Couture is amazing. I bought the rollerball at Sephora and it’s a great young-but-sexy perfume. Also Incanto Bliss is not new-in fact, there’s another Incanto coming out this next spring. I sure hope there’s another Island perfume coming, because Very Hollywood didn’t live up to my expectations. The new Ed Hardy is just as bad as the previous two, although I do love the bottle with the outsized cap. As far as the appliances go-yeah, they’re pricey, but it’s Ed frickin’ Hardy after all, and they have the Love Kills Slowly black base w/skull design appliances now in full-size. Me? I want the mini set.

Next up is a popular one for ULTA-stocking stuffers, as there are things from $2 handcreams and $1 lipbalms to $3 Jasmine LaBelle sets and $5 compacts, wristlets, and nail polish sets. Apparently the OPI Tiny Tinsels set is on sale for $5, so I may or may not pick that bad boy up. There are also $10 and under gifts such as the mug gift set with shower gel, lotion, and body cream, Cargo’s new lip gloss greeting cards, cheapie eyeshadow palettes galore, candles, and all sorts of things. All of them, to me, relatively boring, but when you have a multi-year supply of body products then yeah, things get boring. The under $20 though looks better. Too Faced Glamour to Go 3, an ULTA pro 5-piece brush set, POP Beauty 24K Clutch, Cargo Boogie Nights eyeliner set, and a twin pack of Pur Minerals mascara, along with a larger beauty blockbuster courtesy of ULTA brand.

Moving into prestige cosmetics (already? Darn) there is the Smashbox Wish collection, which I strongly suggest you take a look at. The highlight for me is the brush set, and if you use the Photo Finish primer you will want to check out that duo set. With any purchase, you get a free cream liner trio. I just got a Blacktrack fluidline, so I am good for now, but I may get the brush set for both my mum and myself. Bare Minerals has a few sets-there’s a 4 piece brush set for $35 (kabuki, blending, contour shadow, eyeliner) in a pink bag, as well as a 4-piece Buxon lip gloss set for $28. For $34, you can get a “classic glam” inspired set, with Pearl Sateen and Parisian Grey eyeshadows, Charcoal Lame liner/shadow, So Fab blusher, and a mini Pomegranate gloss. I admit, I’m kinda liking the gloss…Urban Decay has nothing new-just the Show Pony and the liner sets. All of which I want, of course. Too Faced has the French and Fabulous palette which is a great concept, but I knew I wouldn’t really use it. The Stila Smudge Pot set is definitely appealing, but I heard they dry out FAST. LORAC has the $30 Silver Screen palette, and Cargo has the $30 City of Lights set. The lastter one, I may actually get my mum if money allows. Studio Gear has the usual free tote with $35 or more purchase, and Pur Minerals has a Mineral Eye Prep full-size free with any purchase. Napoleon Perdis is STILL running the tote/lipgloss free with Holiday Collection purchase, and while I am ga-ga over the Gold Digger Glimmers I am still coveting the brush sets. Bourjois still has the free cosmetic bag, and I’ll be needing to replace mascara before too much longer. Benefit, though, has an insane deal-a free full-size of BadGal Blue with a $19 purchase. That’s how much the mascara is worth!

Moving into cheapo makeup, L’Oreal’s mascara that is the Phenomeneyes knockoff is $6.50-$2.50 off. Revlon has a B2G1 free along with a free tweezer or a travel brush set with a set purchase. Maybelline has a free makeup remover with purchase of two items. L’Oreal has a free blush, powder, or concealer with foundation purchase. Physician’s Formula has a free brush set with a $12 purchase. Neutrogena has a free Moisture-Shine lip colour with a 2-item purchase. However, moving into nails…ULTA Professional nail polishes are B1G1 free, and Essie has a free Matte About You or a Good To Go topcoat with $16 purchase. OPI, meanwhile, has one of the 3 ULTA Exclusives (Dreaming of Red, Dazzled By Gold, Visions of Sugarplum) free with a $17 purchase. Essentially, B2G1 free, but you get only 3 to choose from.

Onto skincare, where there are samples galore. Any Exuviance purchase gets a deluxe sample of the Rejuvenating Bionic Scrub and DDF has a free Discolouration Reversal Kit with purchase, as well as a new Advanced Firming Eye concentrate that supposedly uses turmeric’s powers to reduce lines and wrinkles. Lip Fusion also has a $39 set with six mini glosses, while Dermalogica has a Favourites kit for $35. Mario Badescu has a free sample of the revitalizing mask with any purchase.

Selected hair appliances are on sale-the Revlon Perfect Heat 1″ straightener with bonus 1/2″ travel straightener is $ 20. Remington’s Wet 2 Straight and Wet 2 Style irons are $28, Conair’s You Style curl/flat iron is $30, FHI’s 1″ flat iron is $80, and Sedu’s 1 1/2″ flat iron is $120. Rusk’s hair dryers are $80, and the Hot Tools Tourmaline Lite dryer is $60. The new R Session tapered curling iron is $35, and select Hot Tools irons are 20% off. Revlon and Conair also have styling items on sale but nothing new to note. The basic CHI 1″ iron is $100 and selected CHI appliances are $20 off, while the Hot Tools Ceramic Ti irons are $40. Wigo has a pink zebra flat iron, curling iron, or dryer for $30 each, and they’re seriously looking appealing. The dryer will be MINE. Maybe the curling iron, too. I just got a 20% off my entire purchase coupon from them and I need to put it to use on Friday, that’s for damned sure.

Olay, Aveeno, and ROC skincare are 15% off, as is Pantene haircare. Clairol Nice/Easy colour is 2/$10, and L’Oreal Feria is $5 off of 2. Selected hair accessories, the HairDo (Jessica Simpson) bangs or wrap-around ponytail, Caboodles traincases and cosmetic bags, and select beauty blockbuster kits are 25% off. Lots of Brookstone gifts in this, including a Snuggie knockoff, but I’d be after the luxe earmuffs. When I go into work it’s pretty darn cold-we’re talking below 20 degrees, folks. However, there are some good things-all trimmers are 20% off. I wouldn’t give a trimmer as a gift, unless my boyfriend REALLY wanted it. Those are the sorts of things that end up in the trash heap, or get a bit of scorn. But that’s just my $.20. I did see both the Hot Hugs aromatherapy animals and the Homedics Speaker-on-the-Go today when I went up, and they’re $10 each. The Bed Head mini styling iron is kinda cute, though.

Selected Earth Theraputics and Karen Neuburger gift sets are on sale, and Yankee Candle Fragrance of the Month jars and tumblers are 25% off. ULTA Bath is B2G1 free and Smoothies are $9.

Selected holiday hair gift sets are 25% off, and Phyto has a Coveted Collection in a case for $65 that features a sampling of 1.7 ounce sizes of popular products. Fekkai has the Travel Faves which ain’t really a value but whatever. Paul Mitchell, Alterna, Sebastian, Matrix, and Nioxin are B2G1 free, though. On the hair note, selected new CHI irons come with a thermal pouch, a matching nail polish, and a base coat. I kinda want the pink leopard, but also the damask. Then again, I never flat iron my hair. Oh well!

Finally, on the back cover, all ULTA cosmetics, minerals, brushes, implements, and beauty tools are B1G1 free, and there’s a coupon you can use on that for a free mineral eyeshadow, eye or lip liner, or Super Shiny lipgloss.

Apologies for this being so late-between working and my boyfriend and having to constantly tear my room apart, I never have had time to finish this! But I have now-a week late. Forgive me please?:)

Leave a Reply

