Colour Craft Review, With Swatches

9 July, 2009

Yes, I did go to see Colour Craft today…and my goodness, it’s insane!

First off, it is another two-displayer collection. One of them is just the MSF’s, the other is the colour stuff. And where better to start than with the MSF’s? Porcelain Pink is gorgeous, it’s a pale pink with gold veining. It is also very low shimmer, and if I had the funds it would have been MINE. This is the third time it has come out however for most people, it will be a case of stocking up. This is a good one to complement any skin tone, and I do see it selling out. Sunny By Nature and Cheeky Bronze, to me, both seemed way dark and underwhelming at first, but that’s because they had a layer of crap on top. Once I brushed it away with the 249, it actually seemed pretty decent. Both of them are great bronzer shades, Cheeky Bronze being more of a cheek bronze/contour, while Sunny By Nature could be an all-over for many people. Like Porcelain Pink, these are also very low shimmer. A lot of people don’t like the heavy shimmer, because it is a skinfinish, implying that it should be used all over-and you don’t exactly want to look like a disco ball, now, do you?As far as the trio MSF’s went, I had very low expectations. Warm Blend is way dark for me, however this will probably be a hit with the WOC (women of colour) set. Triple Fusion is VERY light, and VERY shimmery. I definitely would skip it, it’s absolute garbage in my book. However, Smooth Merge is quite lovely. It does have shimmer in the top two parts but the middle is more subtle, and it would work well with a 187 all over or as a blush. It won’t be for everyone, but it is a must-buy in my eyes.

Moving onto the colour stuff! I truly thought that the lipglasses were going to be a case of “the less said, the better”. Sure, they are square-tubed glosses, but these are actually very pigmented. It is hard to get a good amount out, yes. But these are NOT something you should automatically count out. Eclectic Edge comes out as a light purple, and for the people who missed out on the lavender Cremesheen Glass, or people who love purples, this is an absolute must. Funky Fusion and Crazy Haute are kind of fun, and even Nice Mix-Up is a colour that would be worth trying. The other two didn’t really catch my attention as much, however, everyone has their own personal taste, which is why you at least need to try this stuff out.

The eyeshadows, in my eyes, are not the best mineralized products. Natural Flare is the prettiest of them, because it has that lovely orange, and it’s neutrals kicked-up (my favourite sort of neutral). Odd Bits is a nice one as well-I found it to be the most pigmented of the bunch. It could have been that I was using a 249 and not a 231 or a 228 (I typically do the 231 with my Sea/Sky and Fresh Green Mix MES, but still, these do run on the lighter side. I would not count them out just yet, but I was mostly unimpressed. Girlish Romp is okay, but these aren’t something you should be losing any sleep over.

The lipsticks, honestly, were the standout of the collection. Yes, I’m kind of lipsticked-out, as I just got Show Orchid and Costa Chic (btw, the freestanding in Seattle sold out of Costa Chic and Via Veneto, unsurprisingly), but I could have ended up with so many of this. Let me start out with Trimming Talk, which I actually bought. It is a fuschia, and unabashedly so! I luckily had my Show Orchid with me, and I compared the two. Show Orchid, obviously, is brighter. It is an AC, so the colour is going to be more saturated. TT, on the other hand, is a bit darker, a bit more subdued, and it is a frost, so you get a little pearl with it. If you missed out on Show Orchid, you will definitely want Trimming Talk because it is a workable dupe, and even more wearable. It’s not as subdued as say, Girl About Town. Made With Love is a gorgeous colour, it’s a redder version of Costa Chic and it lacks the frost (it is a lustre). Colour Crafted shouldn’t be counted out either-it is ridiculously pigmented. It’s a lighter pink, and a frost, and if I wore those more often I would be getting this. Most Popular is a repromote from Hello Kitty, and I initially wrote this off, but in reality it is a gorgeous berry colour that will work for most people. I am definitely putting this as a must-buy, as I would use it for the fall. The other two lipsticks didn’t impress me as much either, as I’m not a neutrals person.

Finally, we have the blushes. The scary thing? I could end up with most all of them. Daft Pink is a great one to get if you  missed out on Moon River-it’s a lovely pale-r blue pink. Hand Finish is also lovely, it’s a bit warmer and darker though. Fad-Dabulous is an interesting colour-it has some plum to it, which appeals to me as I do like plummy blushes. Improvise is coral-toned, although not as much as I had hoped. Cheek & Cheerful is the requisite bronze, and I’m not interested. Finally, Style Demon is a fun one. It’s a red, and somewhat pigmented, but still very workable, so it is not totally unwearable.

Finally, you have the two brushes-the 131 and the 226. The 131, from what I tried, is lovely. Do I see the need for it if one already has the 187 or 188? No. However, if you are a brush fan or if you need a new brush and want to try duo-fiber, this is the way to go. The 226 I actually bought two of-one for me, one for my mum-and I love it. It’s a small blending brush, with a little flame-tip for precision work. For me, eye brushes should be small because it’s all about getting it precise, which is why I love the 231.

I’m going to have my verdict done a bit differently-just the must-haves and must-skips, because there is so much that is not entirely skippable.

Must-Have: Porcelain Pink, Smooth Merge, Sunny By Nature, Daft Pink, Hand Finish, Style Demon, Trimming Talk, Most Popular, Made With Love, Colour Crafted, Eclectic Edge, Funky Fusion

Must-Skip: Ever Embellish, Madly Creative, Triple Fusion, Assemblage

Swatches! Sorry if the quality sucks:( My camera isn’t great, the lighting sucked, and it’s hard to swatch when the entire shopping centre is looking at you and you are juggling a purse, the bag, and a red velvet cupcake. (nom nom nom)

Daft Pink, Hand Finish, Improvise, Fad-Dabulous, Cheek/Cheerful, Style Demon, Porcelain Pink, Sunny By Nature, Cheeky Bronze

Daft Pink, Hand Finish, Improvise, Fad-Dabulous, Cheek/Cheerful, Style Demon, Porcelain Pink, Sunny By Nature, Cheeky Bronze

Top: Show Orchid Middle: Most Popular, Madly Creative, Made With Love, Colour Crafted, Trimming Talk, Ever Embellish Bottom: Funky Fusion, Nice Mix-Up, Eclectic Edge, Pretty Pattern, Miss Marble, Crazy Haute

Top: Show Orchid Middle: Most Popular, Madly Creative, Made With Love, Colour Crafted, Trimming Talk, Ever Embellish Bottom: Funky Fusion, Nice Mix-Up, Eclectic Edge, Pretty Pattern, Miss Marble, Crazy Haute

Odd Bits, Fashion Patch

Odd Bits, Fashion Patch

Natural Flare

Natural Flare

Girlish Romp, Assemblage

Girlish Romp, Assemblage

Fashion Patch, Eccentricity

Fashion Patch, Eccentricity

Warm Blend (top-blended, plus three stripes)

Warm Blend (top-blended, plus three stripes)

Smooth Merge

Smooth Merge

Triple Fusion

Triple Fusion

Leave a Reply

