Fekkai Glossing Line

11 January, 2009

One of the big things that launched in stores when I worked at BBW was Fekkai haircare. It’s been around for awhile, but it was a big deal as it was a brand that used to only be carried online and in the flagship stores…and suddenly, you could walk into your neighbourhood store and buy it. Well the product that we got shoved down our throats the most was the Glossing Cream-and how it was SO great, perfect for all, and the OMG I-can’t-live-without-it product of the bunch. I didn’t really believe it, that is until I got the chance to try it myself.

Honestly, it is worth some of the hype, but not all of it. Is it lightweight? You betcha. Is it great for all hair types? No. It is really good to use on longer hair to give it some shine and frizz control, and make it look polished-however, if you expect all of your frizz to be gone, then this isn’t going to work for you. It does certainly help though. I do have oilier hair, and I find that using the cream from time to time does help, but at the same time, using it daily would be very detrimental, as olive oil is what gives it the shining properties. A lot of people use it like a leave-in conditioner-meaning put it in your hair when wet-and it does work nicely that way. It not only softens the hair, but it gives the nice, shiny look.

Also because of the oil, it does separate. There is a large 7-ounce size of the glossing cream, but honestly, you only need that if you a) have really long hair, or b) use it absolutely every day. The 4-ounce size, which is $20, will do just fine.

The Glossing line also has three other products. There is a shampoo and conditioner, and if you have very normal hair, almost a bit dull, this is what you want as some magazines have touted these as “an easy way to get the salon look”. If you have more oily hair, this is one that you want to avoid for day-to-day use, as it isn’t the greatest at cleansing. I do use a bit of this with a different shampoo, or once a week on its own in the summer. The smell is really nice-a very plant-y smell, and guys love it. It does help a bit with frizz, however you also want to do a clarifying rinse after every several shampoos just to avoid buildup.

Finally, there is my favourite of the bunch-the Glossing Sheer Shine Mist. When I first started using Fekkai, I nicknamed this “Glossing for Morons” because I am a moron when it comes to hair stuff. I admit it. It’s very easy to use-just spray this on your dry hair and fingercomb. You don’t need a ton of it, and it’s truly lightweight. In the summer, I cannot live without this, as it brings out the natural highlights in my hair. You can also spray this onto hair before OR after styling it which would be amazing IF I ever styled my hair. It’s my pick of the collection, and at $23, it’s a worthy investment as it lasts FOREVER.

Leave a Reply

