Happy Thanksgiving!!!

27 November, 2008

Happy Thanksgiving to you all! Hope that everybody enjoys their day and uses it to reflect upon what is most important in their lives. Use the time to spend with your family, because you never know what may happen in the next year or so. For many families, that reality is all too true. I don’t know if any of you have heard, but there was a terrorist attack in Mumbai-a city of 18 million. The attacks, by a militant group, targeted American or British nationals. Already the death toll is over 100, with hundreds injured. While they may not celebrate Thanksgiving over in India, put yourself in their shoes for a moment, and imagine that you just lost a family member in the gunfire.

I am not trying to be macabre or offencive. I am just trying to say to take the time to be thankful for the family that you have, and to spend time with them when you can because you never know when they will be gone.

So what am I thankful for this year?First off, I am thankful that our family is together in one piece, and in decent health. Even though we may snipe at each other every chance we get, we at least have a support system should we need it.

I am also thankful for the fact that I actually do have a job-even though I may not get the hours that I want, I still have a place that employs me, and that’s saying something in this terrible economic climate.

I’m thankful that I have friends who not only support me when I am down, but give me the ass-kicking I need when I need it.

I’m thankful for my heritage.

I’m thankful to live where I do, where snow is rarely ever seen down in the lowlands.

I’m thankful that I am able to live fairly comfortably, and that even though my hours may be slim, I still have all of the essentials of life, and then some.

Finally, I am thankful for the fact that I do believe.

Leave a Reply

