Almay: Pure Blends

11 November, 2008

So I was watching my usual Monday Night television, and then I saw an advert for this: new Almay Pure Blends makeup. The ads, starring Leslie Bibb (of Popular fame), tout 95% natural ingredients, as well as being hypoallergenic and eco-friendly. Hell, the packaging has a significant portion of recycled materials. I am definitely not one for drugstore makeup, however this is definitely going to fit in quite well. There’s a lot more people who are looking for makeup that is free of the chemicals and preservatives, and most of the brands that will have that are WAY upmarket. It also is an antithesis to a lot of drugstore makeup-cheap, yes. But it has so many chemicals and preservatives and such, not to mention most of is is heavily animal-tested, so there are a lot of people who will have some trouble with it.

From the looks of the website, all of the shades are definitely ones to appeal to the average consumer. It’s nothing particularly bright-a lot of soft colours-but I may pick up a blush or a lipgloss. If I can find a piece of lower-end makeup that works well for me, I might as well give it a try. I haven’t heard a ton of reviews yet, but hopefully I will get some of the pieces to try out.

And the fact that it is hypoallergenic may be good for some people who normally buy Clinique for that reason-since this is probably going to be a tad bit cheaper. If you have tried it out, let me know what you think of it. I’m definitely interested.

Leave a Reply

